Renée Fleming | Renee Fleming Laureate of the Swedish Polar Music Prize 2008

Renee Fleming Laureate of the Swedish Polar Music Prize 2008

25 August 2008

Renee Fleming Laureate of the Swedish Polar Music Prize 2008

Renée has received the 2008 Polar Music Prize in recognition of her sublime unparalleled voice and unique stylistic versatility. Connoisseurs and the general public alike have been dazzled by the beauty of her soft and natural voice, which is equally supple in every register and exudes sensitivity in every tone. With apparent ease and brilliant command, she takes on the entire operatic repertoire, from Handel to principal parts in newly penned operas. Concert audiences over the world have all been captivated by Ms. Fleming's magnetic stage presence. She holds a truly exceptional position among the world's singers.


The laureates (Pink Floyd were also honoured) received the prize from His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden at a gala ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall, followed by a celebratory banquet at Grand Hotel on Tuesday the 26th of August. The event, which was broadcast on national television (TV4), attracts international media, members of the international music business, celebrities, artists, musicians, government ministers, politicians and leading members of society and industry.

The Polar Music Prize was founded in 1989 by the late Stig "Stikkan" Anderson, one of the true greats in the history of popular music. As the publisher, lyricist and manager of ABBA, he played a key role in their enormous success. Its name stems from Anderson´s legendary record label, Polar Records. The Polar Music Prize is one of the most prestigious and unique music prizes in the world, crossing over musical boundaries and awarded to individuals, groups and institutions in recognition of exceptional achievements.

Laureates from a wide range of countries, cultures and continents have received the Prize in Stockholm from the hand of His Majesty, King Carl XVI.

Sir Paul McCartney, Sir Elton John and Stevie Wonder have all been bestowed with the Prize since its inception in 1992. In 1992, the Baltic States were also awarded the Prize to encourage them in their work for protection of copyright.